

News Release

For Immediate Release

Premier Akeeagok announces Cabinet changes

Iqaluit, Nunavut (September 25, 2023) – Premier P.J. Akeeagok today announced changes to Nunavut's Executive Council, after swearing in the newest members of Cabinet, Minister Joelie Kaernerk and Minister Daniel Qavvik.

Effective September 25, 2023:

- Premier P.J. Akeeagok remains Minister of Executive and Intergovernmental Affairs, Minister of Indigenous Affairs, and Minister responsible for Immigration, and becomes Minister responsible for the Utility Rates Review Council.
- Minister Pamela Hakongak Gross remains Deputy Premier and Minister of Education and Minister responsible for Seniors. Minister Gross resumes her ministerial responsibilities Oct. 16, 2023.
- Minister David Joanasie remains Government House Leader, Minister of Community and Government Services, and will remain Acting Deputy Premier and Acting Minister of Education until Oct. 16.
- Minister Lorne Kusugak remains Minister of Finance, Minister responsible for Liquor Licensing Board, Minister responsible for the Nunavut Housing Corporation, and remains Acting Minister responsible for Seniors until Oct. 16.
- Minister David Akeeagok remains Minister of Justice, Minister of Economic Development and Transportation, Minister responsible for Labour, Minister responsible for Mines, Minister responsible for Human Rights Tribunal, Minister responsible for Nunavut Business Credit Corporation, Minister responsible for Nunavut Development Corporation, Minister responsible for Trade.
- Minister John Main remains Minister of Health and Minister responsible for Suicide Prevention.

- Minister Margaret Nakashuk remains Minister of Human Resources, Minister of Family Services, Minister responsible for Homelessness, Minister responsible for Status of Women, Minister responsible for the Workers' Safety and Compensation Commission, and Minister Responsible for Poverty Reduction.
- Minister Joelie Kaernerk becomes Minister of Culture and Heritage, Minister of Languages, and Minister responsible for the Qulliq Energy Corporation.
- Minister Daniel Qavvik becomes Minister of Environment, Minister responsible for Energy, and Minister responsible for Nunavut Arctic College.

"I am happy to welcome the newest members of our Executive Council, Minister Joelie Kaernerk and Minister Daniel Qavvik," said Premier Akeeagok.

"Today, Ministers Kaernerk and Qavvik join a Cabinet that remains fully committed to the success of the *Katujjiluta* mandate across government. We look forward to the new energy and the increased diversity our new ministers will bring to an already strong Cabinet."

###

Media Contact:

Michele LeTourneau Press Secretary Office of the Premier 867-975-5063 MLeTourneau6@gov.nu.ca